Radio Haydn

24-hours-Pedestrians-walk-016

I am somewhat irritated that, unsurprisingly (to me, anyway), three out of four of the BBC Radio 3 “Composers of the Year” are from the 17th/18th century. I regard the attention to Haydn on Radio 3 so far this year to be disproportionate, when there are simply so many wonderful composers who are largely ignored by the programme. By all means let us have these celebrations but the air time should contain a much wider mix.

I did listen to much of the recent Haydn week but that set of programmes will do me for the rest of 2009 as far as this composer is concerned. I wouldn’t see Haydn as a reason to tune away from Radio 3, though. I would be happy to hear any of his orchestral music at any time.

I confess to being a promiscuous Radio 3 listener, both in terms of listening to the station indiscriminately and in terms of tuning in to other stations. Radio 3 is my default setting, but I enjoy forays into Radios 2 and 4, as well as Smooth Radio, the digital stations Jazz FM and Chill, and the American classical station WCPE via the internet.

Some types of music are best suited to certain times of day: for example jazz naturally suits the night time, and pop and rock – as I get older – are best heard earlier in the day. But Haydn is (or was) a treat at any hour. Only sixty more symphonies to go.

People who don’t “get” classical music probably think we enthusiasts don’t like anything else. I love orchestral music, opera, ballet, chamber music and instrumental music … but, for me, it would be a sad world that didn’t also include jazz, bebop, rock ’n’ roll, soul, R&B (in the original sense), singer-songwriters and much more besides.

One Response to “Radio Haydn”

  1. […] Original post by Robin Gosnall […]

Leave a Reply

