Brown Bread: Keith Floyd

Keith-Floyd-006

“I’ve not felt this well for ages.”

Sad news of the death of Keith Floyd. What a great character. All these celebrity TV chefs should be grateful to him for their current high profiles.

I loved the way he used to introduce each recipe as “another cooking sketch”.

I’ve just watched the Channel 4 documentary in which Keith Allen spent a weekend with Keith Floyd at his home in Provence – which was shortly to be taken from him in a divorce settlement. What strange synchronicity that it was shown the night of his death.

It is a fascinating film, Floyd is clearly not a well man, but his opinions and manner are as forthright as ever – the language is not for the faint-hearted, especially when venting his spleen on “celebrity chefs”.

It is also quite sad, Floyd being deeply moved by the arrival of the estranged daughter he hadn’t seen for ten years – a set-up by Floyd for the camera? Probably, in the hope that the presence of a TV crew would aid a reconciliation. Sad too, as Keith Floyd had aged so much since I last saw him. He said he sought solace in alcohol because he was often lonely. He was a great character and had a warmth and humanity about him despite the rough edges. He will be missed.

I hope Channel 4 will show Keith on Keith again, do try and watch it if you can.

The quote I’m left with is from the very beginning of the film, where Floyd says:

“I probably drink more red wine than I should, and smoke more than is good for me, but it’s my life and that’s the way I want it.”

The darker side of this attitude to life is pointed out in the Daily Telegraph obituary:

At its worst, his bon vivant style and turbulent relationships had seen him come to rely on whisky. With a bottle in the bedside table, “I felt I had to have a few large glasses before I could even get downstairs.”

R.I.P. Keith Floyd 1943-2009

2 Responses to “Brown Bread: Keith Floyd”

  1. Albert Wm. Gosnall Says:

    And what a greater man he could have been, if only!!!

  2. Thanks Albert. Floyd outlined his ideal last supper in the Observer, 21 October 2007.

Leave a Reply

