LPs/CDs

I’ve recently transferred some of my old LPs onto CD (not all of them yet, because it is so very time consuming).

I have realised that the sound is quite different. Better in fact, in many ways. Although I believe that 24-bit digital recording is pretty unbeatable – I’m surprised at how good these old LPs were. Or was it that there were better producers and sound engineers in the 1970s – when these were recorded?

You can hear every part clearly and in balance. The sound is quite beautiful.

I’m referring particularly to my recordings of the Alban Berg Quartet playing Mozart. Such perfect vibrato, not overdone, perfect tempi, perfect balance, wonderful musicianship and nothing less than perfect technically.

Have we lost this? The art of playing, and great musicianship, captured by outstanding producers and sound engineers?

Am I right that a lot of what we hear now from recent years is totally contrived?

Classical Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

Leave a Reply

