The surreal world of Mervyn Peake

The archive of author and illustrator Mervyn Peake has been acquired by the British Library for £410,000. Peake, who died in 1968, was the author of the classic Gormenghast fantasy trilogy (Titus Groan, Gormenghast and Titus Alone), telling the story of the 77th Earl of Groan, Titus, in his crumbling castle.

The British Library has acquired the author’s 39 Gormenghast notebooks, his complete set of original drawings for Lewis Carroll’s Alice books and his personal correspondence with authors including Laurie Lee, John Berger and C.S. Lewis.

Classical Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: