Brown Bread: Tony Curtis

Tony Curtis in “Sweet Smell of Success”

Tony Curtis: a true Hollywood star

I honestly can’t think of a bad Tony Curtis film, i.e. one I didn’t like.

The Persuaders now seems cheesy and kitsch, but I can remember it being an enormous success on ITV in the early 1970s – there had been nothing so racy from the British television stable up to then and it earned ATV vast sums in worldwide sales.

I remember reading an article in which Roger Moore and Tony Curtis said ruefully that the majority of their shooting was done on sets in London whilst a second unit did all the glamorous continental exteriors.

R.I.P. Tony Curtis (Bernard Schwartz), actor, born 3 June 1925; died 29 September 2010

3 Responses to “Brown Bread: Tony Curtis”

  1. Brown Bread: Tony Curtis…

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

  2. A very sad loss.

    I would add that most people dont realise that he was an artist too. I spent a day with him when he actually told me that he was an artist first and an actor second

    He also told me that his proudest moment was when a painting was selected for MoMA in NY and surpringly not anything connecting with acting!

    Akuta
    (full story of our meeting and discussion about his art on my blog a kick up the arts)

Leave a Reply

