Woody Allen

With nearly 50 movies behind him, the veteran director says his latest film took ‘years of disillusionment’ to make. Here he talks with Carole Cadwalladr about his controversial marriage, the three children he lost in a custody battle, and his desire to work again with Diane Keaton.

The reason for the interview is the UK release this week of You Will Meet A Tall Dark Stranger, the fourth film he’s shot in the UK.

Woody Allen: ‘My wife hasn’t seen most of my films… and she thinks my clarinet playing is torture’

(Source: Observer)

In Woody Allen’s universe there is no reason why some things happen and others not. His atheism allows no delusions of that kind, but what about age, I ask him? Do you resist hearing that you’re old?

“I do, I resist. I feel the only way you can get through life is distraction. And you can distract yourself in a million different ways, from turning on the television set and seeing who wins the meaningless soccer game, to going to the movies or listening to music. They’re tricks that I’ve done and that many people do. You create problems in your life and it seems to the outside observer that you are self-destructive and it’s foolish. But you’re creating them because they’re not mortal problems. They are problems that can be solved, or they can’t be solved, and they’re a little painful, perhaps, but they are not going to take your life away.”

4 Responses to “Woody Allen”

  1. Just imagine a revisit with Annie Hall..

    Thanks for your visit to my blog.

  2. He certainly is an interesting character. Hannah and Her Sisters remains my favourite film of all time… but Manhattan Murder Mystery is the best escape. But tell me, did you like the opening sequence of Manhattan, at the very least?

    • Blog Princess G! Manhattan is a marvellous film, it’s everything afterwards that I struggle to sit through, with the exception of Broadway Danny Rose. I think I like these movies more for their photography than either Woody Allen’s writing or performing. Hannah has one good line in it: “How the hell do I know why there were Nazis? I don’t know how the can opener works!”

      Since these, I’ll admit, perhaps I have let Woody Allen’s revolting personal life colour my judgement of his work …

Leave a Reply

