Photographing Salford

A couple of my photographs were published in the most recent editions of the weekly Salford Advertiser.

This one was taken in Weaste Cemetery when I was looking for the grave of Sir Charles Hallé, who founded the Hallé Orchestra in Manchester.

This one was taken at Salford Precinct after the snow fell a few weeks ago; the boy is my son Gabriel.

3 Responses to “Photographing Salford”

  1. Joseph Masheck Says:

    I hope it’s O. K. to bring up a tangential and possibly slightly pedantic point, in this case in respect to Robin Gosnall’s photograph of ‘Salford Precinct.’ Here in New York, a usage has arisen which quite irritates me: a ‘precinct’ now means a police station, by metonymic truncation from ‘precinct HOUSE.’ What hurts my head about this is that a zone should be confused with a single building standing at a particular point, So if it’s not hogging the microphone, I would like to ask if this correct use of ‘Precinct’ is something new in Britain in the formal name of a spatial zone or area. When I lived there, decades ago, I don’t think I ever heard of any area actually named a ‘precinct’ (which, I suppose, is most correctly a sub-area of something else — here a county?).

    • Extremely pedantic Joseph … I like your comment thank you … Salford Shopping City to give it its official title is just a shopping mall … and has been called locally “The Precinct” for at least 30 years … it is a single building … but within it are many shops and other delights … so it is a landmark and an area in its own right … a precinct … we used to call them shopping centres …

      • Joseph Masheck Says:

        Thank you, Robin, for the explanation. I’ll behave myself and not go on about ‘centres’ that usually seem to be anything but focal points, singuilar concentrations, and are often peripheral!

Leave a Reply

